Book Review Books

Book Review: The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi

Synopsis

Set in a darkly glamorous Paris, the book follows a charismatic but cursed heir of a massive fortune as he plots to steal one of three ancient and powerful artifacts of fate. He and his crew will navigate the elite gatherings of secret occult societies, traveling through Paris’ catacombs where they must confront their worst secrets as well as a destiny they never imagined.

Add to goodreads |  Pre-order in Amazon | Pre-order in Book Depository

My Thoughts

I received a free advanced reader’s copy from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

To be honest, I was enchanted by the cover and was intrigued by the synopsis so I decided to request this arc. Both the cover and the synopsis is full of mystery and I couldn’t wait to unravel them. And upon reading a few pages, I was hooked.

What I really liked about this book are the characters- Severin, Laila, Tristan, Zophia, Enrique and Hypnos. All six of them are different and with depth. They are complex instead of superficiaI. liked how it’s obvious that the author really worked hard on giving life on these characters. The characters doesn’t exist as tools for telling the plot. They are their own. All six of them have their back stories that make them who they are and I loved all of them. Severin and his ambition to take back what’s his, Laila and her quest to know if she’s real or not, Tristan and his tarantula, Zophia and math, Enrique with his symbols… by the end of the book, it feels like I have met new people and had new friends.

I also really loved the world building. I felt like I was fully immersed in a world where forging is practiced. At first, I really didn’t understand how forging works but as I read along, I was fascinated with it.

I also really liked how the romance was not forced. In other books, it’s obvious that the love subplot is there just for the sake of a love subplot. I really liked the tension between Severin and Laila. And they’re not apart just for the sake of a star-crossed lovers subplot. They are apart for logical reasons and I like that. Well, except for  the ending part. I also really liked the development between Hypnos, Enrique and Zophia. I’m actually curious on how this would end.

The writing style is also really good. I was on the edge of my seat most of the time. The pacing was really slow towards the end and I kind of lost the hype but for the majority of the book, I couldn’t put it down.  The ending of the book doesn’t feel right, it was rushed and it was obvious that it’s nothing but a set up for a sequel. The ending was a cliche of a build-up. It just doesn’t feel right. Even so, it was kind of redeemed with the plot twist in the very last page. It made me think that the sequel might be worth reading.

Anyways, this book is really good, however, I don’t think it really stands out from other young adult books. For fans of YA, I highly recommend this book especially for those who are looking for something darker.

My Rating:

Pre-Order this book: Amazon | Book Depository

Read, Wander, Love and Live is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program and the Book Depository Affiliate Program. These affiliate programs allow me to earn a small commission when you purchase something using the link that I have provided. This, however, does not increase the cost to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *